They first settled in an old house in Bandar Hilir and immediately took over the running of a school in Tranquerah for boys and girls, with a small boarding school for the girls in need. That was the first seed that soon grew and expanded in the typical Canossian activities: catechesis, retreats for the girls, visits to hospitals, etc.
In 1930, a new block of seven classrooms was erected in Banda Hilir to take in the girls who were in Tranquerah. This was to ensure that these girls could eventually be integrated into the mainstream of society. On 8 August, 1930,the school was officially known as Sacred Heart Convent. In 1932, for the first time, the students took the Junior Cambridge Examination followed by the Senior Cambridge Examination the next year.
The school was temporarily closed during the Second World War and on 14 January 1946, under the British rule, the school re-opened with a total of 477 students. Between the years of 1948 - 1950, a new school block was built in the Portuguese settlement with the aim of educating the children of the fishermen. It was known as Canossian School.
In 1995, the school celebrated its 90th. Anniversary.